IN CINEMAS & ON DEMAND

ABOUT THE FILM

11.-Engagement-Day.-Eric-Ravilious-Tirzah-Garwood.-Private-Colleciton.jpg

ERIC RAVILIOUS: DRAWN TO WAR is a true story.  Eric Ravilious is as compelling and enigmatic as his art.  Set against the dramatic wartime locations that inspire him, Margy Kinmonth’s film brings to life this brilliant but still grossly undervalued British artist.  Caught in the crossfire of war 80 years ago, Ravilious’s legacy largely sank without trace, until now. 

Made with the blessing of the Ravilious Estate, this first full length feature documentary about Ravilious unfolds in his own words, through previously unseen private correspondence and rare archive film. 

Shot entirely on location in the UK, Portugal and Ireland, the film features Ai Weiwei, Alan Bennett, Grayson Perry, Robert Macfarlane with Freddie Fox, Tamsin Greig and many more.

DIRECTED BY: MARGY KINMONTH

TRAILER

★★★★★
"A lovingly crafted documentary portrait."
—The Arts Desk

★★★★
"Fascinating new light on a singularly English master
"
—The Telegraph

PAST SCREENINGS:

Director Q&As

Curzon Mayfair, London: Mon 27 June

Arts Picturehouse, Cambridge: Wed 29 June

Everyman Winchester: Thu 30 June

Depot Lewes: Fri 01 July (Director intro at 20:30)

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford: Sat 02 July

ActOne Cinema, Acton, London: Sun 03 July

Gate Picturehouse, London: Tue 05 July

Bertha DocHouse, London: Thu 07 July

City Screen Picturehouse, York: Sat 09 July

Towner Cinema, Eastbourne: Sun 10 July

The Little Theatre, Bath: Tue 12 July

Watershed, Bristol: Wed 13 July

Chiswick Cinema, London: Thursday 28 July

Duke of York's Picturehouse, Brighton: Sat 30 July

The Lexi Cinema, London: Mon 01 Aug (Director intro at 18:30)

Phoenix, East Finchley, London: Tue 02 Aug

The Parade Cinema, Marlborough: Sat 20 Aug

from Fri 01 July

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Curzon Mayfair, London

FACT Picturehouse, Liverpool

Harbour Lights Picturehouse, Southampton

Newlyn Filmhouse

Showcase Bluewater, Greenhithe 

Showcase Bristol CDL  

Showcase Leeds

Showcase Nottingham

Showcase Reading

Broadway, Nottingham

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley, London

Phoenix, Leicester

Depot Lewes

Irish Film Institute, Dublin

Sat 02 July

ActOne Cinema, Acton, London

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Dukes at Komedia Picturehouse, Brighton

FACT Picturehouse, Liverpool

Harbour Lights Picturehouse, Southampton

Saffron Screen, Saffron Walden

Showcase Leeds

Sun 03 July

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Dukes at Komedia Picturehouse, Brighton

Electric Palace, Hastings

FACT Picturehouse, Liverpool

Hackney Picturehouse

Harbour Lights Picturehouse, Southampton

Showcase Bluewater, Greenhithe

Showcase Bristol CDL  

Showcase Leeds

Showcase Nottingham

Showcase Reading

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Mon 04 July

Bromley Picturehouse

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Tue 05 July

Gate, Cork

Ashford Picturehouse

Cameo Picturehouse, Edinburgh

Clapham Picturehouse

Dukes at Komedia Picturehouse, Brighton

East Dulwich Picturehouse

Finsbury Park Picturehouse

Fulham Road Picturehouse

Hackney Picturehouse

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Regal Picturehouse, Henley-on-Thames

West Norwood Picturehouse

Showcase Bluewater, Greenhithe 

Showcase Bristol CDL  

Showcase Cardiff

Showcase Derby CDL

Showcase Dudley

Showcase Coventry

Showcase Glasgow

Showcase Leeds

Showcase Leicester

Showcase Nottingham

Showcase Reading

Showcase Peterborough

Showcase Teesside

Tue 05 July & Thu 07 July

Arts Picturehouse, Cambridge

Bromley Picturehouse

Picturehouse Central, London

Crouch End Picturehouse, London

Exeter Picturehouse

Gate Picturehouse, London

Greenwich Picturehouse, London

FACT Picturehouse, Liverpool

Hackney Picturehouse

Harbour Lights Picturehouse, Southampton

The Little Theatre, Bath

Stratford East Picturehouse, London

City Screen Picturehouse, York

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Wed 06 July & Sun 10 July

The Plough Arts Centre, Great Torrington

Thu 07 July–Sun 10 July
Electric Palace, Hastings


Fri 08 July & Tue 12 July

MK Gallery, Milton Keynes

Mon 11 July

The Odyssey, St Albans

The Rex Cinema, Berkhamsted

Watermans Brentford

Tue 12 July

Exeter Picturehouse

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Sat 09 July & Wed 13 July

Chichester Cinema at New Park

Sun 10 July & Wed 13 July

Kinokulture​, Oswestry

Mon 11 July–Wed 13 July

Everyman Winchester

Fri 08 July–Thu 14 July

Curzon Mayfair, London

Phoenix, East Finchley

Broadway, Letchworth

HOME Manchester

Showcase Reading

Showcase Bristol CDL

Bertha DocHouse, London

Newlyn Filmhouse

Ashford Picturehouse

The Little Theatre, Bath

Arts Picturehouse, Cambridge

Exeter Picturehouse

Gate Picturehouse, London

Hackney Picturehouse, London

Regal Picturehouse, Henley-on-Thames

FACT Picturehouse, Liverpool

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Harbour Lights Picturehouse, Southampton

City Screen Picturehouse, York

Sat 09 July & Sun 17 July

Kino Teatr, St Leonards-on-Sea

Tue 12 July–Thu 14 July

Rex Cinema, Wareham

Wed 13 July & Thu 14 July

The Kinema In The Woods, Woodhall Spa

Sun 17 July & Mon 18 July

Dundee Contemporary Arts

Mon 18 July

The Light Cinema, Banbury

The Light Cinema, Stockport

The Light Cinema, Sittingbourne

The Light Cinema, New Brighton

The Light Cinema, Cambridge

The Light Cinema, Sheffield

The Light Cinema, Addlestone

Tue 19 July

Showroom, Sheffield

Wed 20 July

Watershed, Bristol

Lighthouse, Poole

Thu 21 July

Broadway Cinema, Letchworth Garden City

Malvern Theatres

Fri 22 July

JW3, London

Fri 22 July–Thu 28 July

Bertha DocHouse, London

Depot, Lewes

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Curzon Mayfair, London

Curzon Richmond, London

Newlyn Filmhouse

Bromley Picturehouse

Cameo Picturehouse, Edinburgh

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Kino Bermondsey, London

Kino Rye

Kino Hawkhurst

Connaught Theatre, Worthing

Sat 23 July–Wed 27 July

Exeter Phoenix

Northampton Filmhouse

Thu 28 July

Watershed, Bristol

Ultimate Picture Palace, Oxford

Sat 30 July

The Poly, Falmouth

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Sun 31 July

Curzon Mayfair, London

Mon 01 August

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

The Kinema In The Woods, Woodhall Spa

Mon 01 August–Sun 07 August

The Lexi Cinema, London

Wed 03 August

South Hill Park, Bracknell

Curzon Cinema Clevedon
Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford

The Bonington, Arnold, Nottingham

Thu 04 August

Electric Picture House, Wotton-under-Edge

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Curzon Cinema Clevedon

Northampton Filmhouse

Depot, Lewes

Abbeygate Cinema

The Bonington, Arnold, Nottingham

Cinema City Picturehouse, Norwich

Arts Picturehouse, Cambridge

Fri 05 August

Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal

The Montrose Playhouse

Highland Cinema, Fort William

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford

Sat 06 August

Highland Cinema, Fort William

The Montrose Playhouse

The Dukes, Lancaster

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

Sun 07 August

Highland Cinema, Fort William

The Montrose Playhouse

The Dukes, Lancaster

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

Mon 08 August

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Connaught Theatre, Worthing

The Picture House, Uckfield

The Rex Cinema, Berkhamsted

Tyneside, Newcastle

Sun 07 August–Tue 09 August

The Birks Cinema, Aberfeldy

Tue 09 August

Norden Farm Centre for the Arts, Maidenhead

The Picture House, Uckfield

Wed 10 August

Electric Picture House, Wotton-under-Edge

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford

Tyneside, Newcastle

Fri 05 August –Thu 11 August

Depot, Lewes

Tyneside, Newcastle

Bertha DocHouse, London

Firstsite Gallery, Colchester

Phoenix Picturehouse, Oxford

Sun 07 August–Sat 13 August

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Mon 08 August–Thu 11 August

Glasgow Film Theatre

Chapter, Cardiff

Thu 11 August

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford

Highland Cinema, Fort William

Tyneside, Newcastle

Fri 12 August

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford

Warwick Arts Centre

Sat 13 August

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

Warwick Arts Centre

Sun 14 August

Electric Palace, Harwich

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford​

Highland Cinema, Fort William

Mon 15 August

The Riverside, Woodbridge

The Lexi Cinema, London

Riverside Cinema, Hammersmith, London

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Thu 11 August–Thu 18 August

The Courtyard, Hereford

Fri 12 August –Thu 18 August

Depot, Lewes

Tyneside, Newcastle

Bertha DocHouse, London

The Garden Cinema, London

Connaught Theatre, Worthing

Sun 14 August–Thu 18 August

JW3, London

Tue 16 August

The Living Room Cinema, Liphook

Showroom, Sheffield

Snowcat Cinema, Penarth

The Lexi Cinema, London

Wed 17 August

Old Market Hall, Shrewsbury

The Rex Cinema, Berkhamsted

Highland Cinema, Fort William

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Thu 18 August

The Dukes, Lancaster

The Living Room Cinema, Liphook

Old Market Hall, Shrewsbury

Highland Cinema, Fort William

The Birks Cinema, Aberfeldy

Corn Exchange, Wallingford

Sat 20 August

The Station Cinema, Richmond

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Sun 21 August–Tue 23 August

Palace Cinema, Broadstairs, Kent

Phoenix, East Finchley, London

Wed 17 August–Thu 25 August

Depot, Lewes

Fri 19 August–Thu 25 August

The Parade Cinema, Marlborough

Exeter Phoenix

Highland Cinema, Fort William

Sun 21 August–Thu 25 August

Connaught Theatre, Worthing

Tue 23 August–Thu 25 August

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Wed 24 August

Totnes Cinema

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Pictureville, National Science & Media Museum, Bradford​

 

Thu 25 August

The Green Howards Museum, Richmond

The Birks Cinema, Aberfeldy

Connaught Cinema, Worthing 

Fri 26 August–Tue 30 August

Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Sun 28 August

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley

Mon 29 August

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

The Garden Cinema, London​

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley

 

Tue 30 August

Forum Cinema, Hexham

The Station Cinema, Richmond

Wed 31 August

South Hill Park, Bracknell

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Thu 01 September

Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough

Corn Exchange, Wallingford

Fri 02 September

Firstsite Gallery, Colchester

Rex, Wilmslow

The Living Room Cinema, Liphook

Connaught Cinema, Worthing 

Sat 03 September

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Sun 04 September

Lonsdale Alhambra Cinema, Penrith

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

 

Mon 05 September

Rex, Wilmslow

Connaught Cinema, Worthing

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley, London

Tue 06 September

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley, London

David Lean Cinema, Croydon

The Living Room Cinema, Liphook

Fri 02 September–Thu 08 September

Depot, Lewes

Sun 04 September–Wed 07 September

Eden Court, Inverness

Tue 06 September–Thu 08 September

Firstsite Gallery, Colchester

Wed 07 September

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal

Fri 09 September

No 6 Cinema, Portsmouth

Yellow-Lighted Bookshop, Gloucestershire

Savoy Cinema, Heaton Moore

Sat 10 September

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Sun 11 September

The Odyssey, St Albans

Mon 12 September

Savoy Cinema, Heaton Moore

Depot, Lewes

Fri 09 September–Tue 13 September

Lexi Cinema, London

Tue 13 September

Number 8 Arts Centre, Pershore

Depot, Lewes

Phoenix Cinema, East Finchley, London

Mon 12 September–Thu 15 September

Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham

Wed 14 September

The North Wall Arts Centre, Oxford

Depot, Lewes

Thu 15 September

Quarterhouse, Folkestone

Depot, Lewes

Fri 16 September

Reading Biscuit Factory

Towner Gallery Cinema, Eastbourne

Bromley Picturehouse

Fri 16 September–Fri 23 September

Wiltshire Museum, Devizes

Sat 17 September

The Northern Light Cinema, Wirksworth

Sun 18 September

The Northern Light Cinema, Wirksworth

Mon 19 September

Reading Biscuit Factory

Haverhill Arts Centre, Haverhill

Tue 20 September

Farnham Maltings

Depot, Lewes

Wed 21 September

Strode Theatre, Street

Phoenix, East Finchley

Thu 22 September

Reading Biscuit Factory

Compton Verney Art Gallery, Warwickshire

Depot, Lewes

Fri 23 September

The Courtyard, Hereford

The Odyssey, St Albans

Sat 24 September

Lighthouse, Poole